Rams News: Kurt Warner Elected Into The Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Rams News: Kurt Warner Elected Into The Pro Football Hall Of Fame

5:30 pm
Kurt Warner

The NFL announced Saturday evening at the NFL Honors ceremony that former St. Louis Rams and Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner has been elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Joining Warner in the 2017 class is LaDanian Tomlinson, Terrell Davis, Jason Taylor and Morten Anderson. Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones and Kenny Easley both also made it into the Hall of Fame as a contributor and as a seniors committee candidate, respectively.

Warner joins other Rams greats like Marshall Faulk, Orlando Pace, Eric Dickerson and Dan Reeves, among others, that have already been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The Iowa-native was part of the ‘Greatest Show on Turf’, that won Super Bowl XXXIV. The quarterback, who played 12 NFL seasons, played six with the Rams and was a two-time NFL MVP, Super Bowl MVP, Walter Payton Man of the Year and a four-time Pro Bowler. In his career he threw for 32,344 yards, which ranks 35th all-time and 208 touchdowns.

Two of Warners teammates, wide receivers Torrey Holt and Isaac Bruce, were both named semifinalists to get into the Hall of Fame, and Bruce was named one of the 15 finalists along with Warner, but this year Warner was the only one that was able to get in.

Warner was a backup quarterback at Northern Iowa until his senior year. After a senior year that he was named the Gateway Conference’s Offensive Player of the Year, he still went undrafted in the 1994 NFL draft.

He was invited to attend Training Camp with the Green Bay Packers, but ended up in the Arena Football League where he played three seasons and was named to the AFL’s First-team All-Arena in both 1996 and 1997.

He was signed by the Rams in 1998 and was allocated to NFL Europe’s Amsterdam Admirals, where he would lead the league in touchdowns and passing yards in the 10 games that he played. He served as the Rams third string quarterback in 1998, and was promoted to backup in 1999. After a preseason injury to starter Trent Green, head coach Dick Vermeil named Warner the team’s starter and he went on to win the Super Bowl that same year, as he was named both the NFL MVP and Super Bowl MVP.

Warner and the rest of the class of 2017 will be enshrined Aug. 5, in Canton, Ohio.